News Search

2019 Global Strike Challenge Team Dyess winners

  • Published
  • By Airman 1st Class Colin Hollowell
  • 7th Bomb Wing Public Affairs

Airmen from Dyess Air Force Base, Texas, recently competed in the 2019 Global Strike Challenge and received multiple awards.

The GSC is the world's premier bomber, intercontinental ballistic missile, helicopter operations and security forces competition. Units from Air Force Global Strike Command, Air Combat Command, Air Force Reserve Command and the Air National Guard participated.

The 7th Bomb Wing received wins in three categories.

“Team Dyess is proud to have our Airmen recognized by Air Force Global Strike Command for the dedication and teamwork they showcase every day here,” said Col. Matthew Newell, 7th Bomb Wing vice commander. “It is a privilege to serve alongside such amazing individuals, and we look forward to continuing to build off their achievements in the future.”

Winners are:
 - Best M24 shooters were Staff Sgt. Jordan Valentine and Staff Sgt. Dominick Pondant, both assigned to the 7th Security Forces Squadron.

 - The Bartsch trophy was awarded to the 9th Bomb Squadron for Best Electronic Countermeasures.

 - The 7th Bomb Wing won the Best Conventional Weapons Load Team.

Lt. Col. Ryan Stallsworth, 9th Bomb Squadron commander, explained that the squadron's Bartsch trophy award win is just one of many data points that indicates the team is "on the right track" in efforts to build a more lethal force.

"Make no mistake, everyone should sleep soundly knowing that the men and women of the 9th Bomb Squadron are ready at a moment's notice to execute a wide variety of global taskings," said Stallsworth. 

Since 2010, the Global Strike Challenge has allowed the top security forces, bomber and missile maintenance, and bomber, missile, and helicopter operations crews from AFGSC, as well as participants from Air Combat Command, the Reserve and Air National Guard to face-off in head-to-head competitions. It's purpose is to connect heritage and mission while recognizing the "best of the best" in weapons system and technical expertise.