AFGSC Approves Command-Wide Civilian Retention Incentive

  • Published
  • By Air Force Global Strike Command Public Affairs
  • Air Force Global Strike Command

Air Force Global Strike Command’s (AFGSC) Directorate of Manpower, Personnel and Services (A1) announces the approval for a command-wide civilian retention incentive for eligible civilian Strikers starting July 2024.

The Manpower, Personnel and Services Directorate has engaged at all levels in addressing innovative ways to improve quality of life, retention and talent management for active duty and civilian Strikers. One initiative is the command-wide civilian retention incentive program, which was recently approved by the command’s A1 Director, Col. Peter Olsen.

“By creating this retention incentive program for our command, we can show our high performing civilian employees that we appreciate their service and want to keep them in the Global Strike family. This is particularly important as we move forward with our new weapons systems and Great Power Competition,” said Olsen.

This endeavor is designed to attract and retain high performing civilian Strikers with a 10% retention incentive for eligible employees. The command is capitalizing on innovative levers to attract and retain our civilian corps.

“Retention incentives are one of the strategic tools our command can use to recruit and retain our vital civilian talent,” adds Olsen.

Eligible appropriated fund employees must be serving at a Global Stike Command installation for six consecutive months and have a fully successful annual appraisal to receive the retention incentive. The incentive is 10% of the employee’s base pay and paid each pay period.

“This is just one of the ways our command is operating differently as the world and our capabilities develop. We’re advocating for innovation in the personnel arena to keep our skilled workforce fighting the fight,” adds Ms. Denise Morris, Chief of Personnel.

Civilian employees at Barksdale Air Force Base, Minot AFB, Ellsworth AFB, Whiteman AFB, Kirtland AFB, Dyess AFB, Malmstrom AFB and F.E. Warren AFB will receive notice of their eligibility from their servicing Civilian Personnel Office beginning in June with implementation no later than 31 July.